£5 & £10 Record Sale

Chase & Status - What Came Before

Chase & Status - What Came Before

Regular price
Regular price
Sale price
Unit price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Pre Order Released


Last month, Chase and Status returned to the limelight unveiling their hard-hitting and trailblazing singles “When It Rains” ft. BackRoad Gee, complete with a Jack McMullen starring, Hector Dockrill-directed cinematic visual and the addictive smash “Don’t Be Scared” ft. Takura. Today, the duo are making a true statement of intent for the year ahead, with the announcement of their sixth studio album, What Came Before. Created by Crown & Owls, the accompanying artwork captures a truly special and magnetic live moment. Speaking on the concept, Crown & Owls state:

“We wanted to create an image that captured the very human compulsion to gather in a dark room and dance and sweat. Such scenes have a different weight to them after they were off the table for a good while, and we were very interested in capturing a moment of collective catharsis in the shadow of a period of history that pushed isolation on so many. We were really interested in the stories of the individuals in the image - what drives them to want to be in that room? The whole campaign kind of works backwards from that moment in the photo really - the intersecting stories of the dance floor, and the sense of freedom and release it brings to the individual. The record sleeve, the single covers, visualisers and elements of the music videos were all captured at this special night - it’s been a joy to work on.”

Landing alongside the album announcement is new single “Mixed Emotions” - a euphoric and recognisably brilliant dose of true Chase and Status energy that landed alongside an incredible video, filmed in two halves and directed by UKMVA-winning Femi Ladi (Pa Salieu - “My Family”). Femi Ladi states:

“On nights out like this, sometimes you just want to get fucked up. Trying to get to that moment, when you’re out of your head and completely in the moment. Sometimes music gets us there, sometimes drugs and alcohol, sometimes it’s a combination of all 3. 

I want to connect our camera to the chasing of that high. A visual metaphor for trying to reach that euphoria. Each time she takes a bump, a line or a pill, the camera closes in on her. The closer she gets to that euphoric moment, the closer the camera gets to her.

By the end I want the audience to have an uncomfortable and claustrophobic feeling as our hero goes slightly overboard, a feeling that most of us know but won't dare to admit.”

Consisting of 13 tracks, What Came Before distills 15 years of unparalleled experiences into a bold, invigorating sixth album; informed by global tours, sold out headline shows, five albums, multiple awards, chart success, underground kudos, top tier collaborations and remixes, and, above all else, that unwavering dance floor energy that remains as tangible and transformative now as it has since the very beginning. This pure, unadulterated exhilaration is the glue that binds all of these experiences together, cultivating a legacy of positive vibes, unforgettable moments and the continued progression of British club culture.

For trailblazers Chase and Status, the story is cyclical - a constant process of regeneration and refinement that comes full circle. Everything that came before, from their inception point to now, has brought them back to their essence. 

What Came Before - Track List:

  1. 1. Don't Be Scared (feat. Takura)
  2. 2. Go
  3. 3. Censor (feat. Popcaan & IRAH)
  4. 4. Mixed Emotions
  5. 5. Over & Done (feat. Pip Millett)
  6. 6. Run Up (feat. Unknown T)
  7. 7. 5AM
  8. 8. Headtop (feat. IRAH)
  9. 9. When It Rains (feat. BackRoad Gee)
  10. 10. Hold Your Ground (feat. Ethan Holt)
  11. 11. Blazer (feat. IRAH)
  12. 12. Consciousness
  13. 13. Forgive Dark

Landing in the wake of their critically acclaimed specialist album RTRN II JUNGLE, and the more recent news of their headlining ParkLife festival this Summer, Chase and Status’s musical return is highly anticipated. After a series of teasers were published on their social media, the duo directed their fans to whatcamebefore.net , unveiling a plethora of forthcoming Summer festival dates. 

The forthcoming album marks the inception point for the duo’s next phase; while on forced hiatus they also went back to square one with their live show. With What Came Before Chase & Status prepare to embark on the next chapter of their illustrious career as a seasoned act ignited by the same excitement and anticipation that was present back when they first arrived.

More on Chase and Status:

Chase and Status are Will Kennard, Saul Milton. They are one of the most successful British bands of the past decade. Their groundbreaking debut album ‘More Than A Lot’ is certified Gold, and was followed by sophomore album ‘No More Idols’ - the second best-selling UK album by a British band in the year of its release. Having now surpassed double platinum status, ‘No More Idols’ included the smash hit UK top 5 single ‘Blind Faith’ featuring Liam Bailey, as well as UK top 10 ‘End Credits’ featuring Plan B. Chase and Status’ third studio album ‘Brand New Machine’ also debuted at no. 2 in the album charts and spawned two top ten singles for the band.

Celebrating over 15 years in the game, Chase and Status are a leading talent in the UK Electronic scene. They were the first UK Electronic act to headline the 02 arena, have had over 1.4 Billion streams, 2.3 million album sales, sold millions of tickets worldwide, are Brit Nominated for Best Group, have headlined Glastonbury on the Other Stage, headlined Reading & Leeds and have collaborated with the likes of Dizzee Rascal, Kano, Snoop Dogg, Rihanna, Rita Ora, Major Lazer, Nile Rogers, Slaves and many more 

.placeholder-noblocks { display: none; }