Joy Anonymous - Cult Classics
Joy Anonymous - Cult Classics
Joy Anonymous - Cult Classics

Joy Anonymous - Cult Classics

Regular price
Regular price
Sale price
Unit price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.


“Raw unscripted energy” - Mixmag

“The gospel of Joy Anonymous is about to spread even further” - NME

“Overwhelming good energy” - The Fader “Surging blasts of light-infused optimism” - Clash “A proper serotonin-booster” - i-D

“Joy (Anonymous) are the London-based dance duo bringing some much-needed warmth to your speakers.” - CRACK

“They have created a magical, visceral atmosphere of sonic transportation where strangers become friends” - Notion


Today, UK dancefloor icons in the making Joy (Anonymous) have announced their forthcoming new album Cult Classics, set for release November 3 viaIsland Records. Cult Classics is a vital collection that pushes the group into bold new territories: a seamless fusion of house, disco, soul and beautifulsongwriting.

Cult Classics is indicative of a group surging with confidence and taking their place as one of the leaders in a UK dance music scene that is going fromstrength to strength. It is an album that traces how far they have come from their beginnings during the pandemic, when they began hosting their legendary pop-up parties, to touring the world, collaborating and performing with Jyoty, Skrillex and more. Cult Classics moves between beautiful euphoria, “Breathe Into Me” & “Head To The Sky”, late night bangers “(JOY) 404”, as well as more contemplative moments including “Weight Wings” and “Sea Bird”.


The album follows the beat of a night out, from frenetic, sweaty movement to the gentler winding down as the dawn breaks. At times it is euphoric,celebratory and pure, whirling fun, at others it seeks the joy in the darker emotions that life throws our way.


‘Cult Classics is the soundtrack of Joy Anonymous meetings over the past two years. It began in Imogen Heap’s house in Romford. where we spent twoweeks working with various friends and new collaborators to form the skeletons of what was to become the album you hear today. Then we took these sounds on tour and tested them out in meetings around the world, honing and developing the sound on the move.

Joy Anonymous is a movement where people feel included and feel safe to share expression and emotion. We have tried to capture that in the sound, process and delivery of this album.’ Joy (Anonymous)


To coincide with the announcement Joy have released “I Did You Wrong”, a track that foregrounds Henry Counsell’s soulful vocals over a beat that recallsthe bittersweet tones of The Avalanches. The track is the perfect end of summer closer: a bridge between the organic and the electronic and a song that showcases Joy’s abilities to write perfect melodies.


‘I Did You Wrong is a song written about a personal journey on discovering joy and the wrong turns taken, to find that joy is just embracing all feelings, not just putting a smile on.’ Joy (Anonymous)



Joy (Anonymous) are coming straight off the back of a run of sold-out shows and their huge surprise B2B2B2B with Skrillex, Romy, Mike Skinner & Fred Again… at a totally sold-out Alexandra Palace, as well as performing at Boomtown, Glastonbury, Boardmasters and more over the summer. They are currently heading over to the US to perform at Life Is Beautiful Festival tomorrow, as well as performing with Fred Again… at Forest Hills Stadium in October. They are performing in the UK in November supporting The Streets throughout their tour. See below for full routing and stay tuned for more news.


Cult Classics Tracklist 

1. (JOY) Beezley’s Poem 

2. JOY (404) 

3. (JOY) In Me All The Time  

4. (JOY) Up The Street 

5. (JOY) A Place I Belong  

6. (JOY) How We End Up Here  

7. (JOY) Head To The Sky  

8. (JOY) Make Some Noise  

9. (JOY) I Did You Wrong  

10. (JOY) Sea Bird  

11. (JOY) Breathe Into Me  

12. (JOY) Weight Wings  

13. (JOY) Now That It’s Over  

14. (JOY) You’re In Or You’re Out  

    .placeholder-noblocks { display: none; }